Missing Strategy:

The Future of US Policy toward the Middle East in 2022 (Panel Discussion)
Missing Strategy:
March 11, 2022

In February of 2022, InterRegional for Strategic Analysis held a panel discussion entitled, “Missing Strategy: US Policy Toward the Middle East in 2022,” featuring Dr. John Calabrese, professor of International Relations at American University in Washington, DC; Prof. David Des Roches of the Near East South Asia Center for Strategic Studies at the National Defense University; Dr. Matthew Kroenig, professor of political science at Georgetown University and director of the Scowcroft Strategy Initiative at the Atlantic Council; and Dr. Anna Borshchevskaya, senior fellow at The Washington Institute for Near East Policy. Dale Sprusansky, Managing Editor at the Washington Report on Middle East Affairs, moderated the panel discussion. InterRegional researchers in Abu Dhabi were in attendance, and the center’s researchers in Cairo also participated.

Key Determinants

The panelists explained that an analysis of the US role in the Middle East must proceed from three main analytical levels.

1. Increasing international complexity: The current international context has created complex conditions for the US administration, which has had many issues imposed on its agenda, such as the coronavirus pandemic, climate change, the conflict with China, and the Ukrainian-Russian crisis and its repercussions on European security.

2. Increasing regional uncertainty: The Middle East’s state of uncertainty has created major challenges for US decision-makers amid numerous ongoing conflicts. While there are positive signs of détente in the region, these indicators are not sufficient.

3. Growing US domestic pressures: Domestic issues are a priority for the Biden administration, which is being called on to address multiple issues, such as the coronavirus crisis and its effects and the economic problems facing Americans, amid a polarized environment even within President Biden’s own party.

General Features

The panelists agreed that the US role in the Middle East will continue, but according to different patterns and forms. This theory is associated with several key dimensions, as follows:

1. Importance of short- and medium-term energy sources: Some panelists noted that the US will be less dependent on Middle East energy sources (oil and gas) in the long term, but that, in the short and medium term, the US will remain interested in regional energy sources for key considerations—primarily the current crisis in Ukraine and its implications for gas supplies to Europe.

2. Prioritizing strategic international shifts: The US policy community is expected to enter a period in which regional developments are seen through the lens of strategic international shifts. In phase 1.0, the US saw developments from a Cold War perspective, while in phase 2.0, Washington interpreted developments through the war on terror. Now, however, we seem to be entering phase 3.0, where American politicians will see the Middle East through the lens of great powers competition.

3. US ability to lead in a pluralistic order: The Biden administration may not have a grand strategy or seek to present top ideas or promises that may not be possible to implement or fulfill, but the American president is an internationalist who believes in multilateralism. He also has a firm belief that the US can and must play a leadership role in international affairs.

4. Development of new patterns for US military presence: It is incorrect that the US will leave the region militarily. Currently, Washington is betting on creating new configurations for military presence in the region that do not involve major troop deployments. Nor can it be said that declining numbers of American forces in the region is proof of a US withdrawal from the Middle East. The US role may be measured with the wrong tools, such as the number of soldiers stationed in a country.

5. Avoiding involvement in protracted regional conflicts: One key point about America’s current role in the region under the Biden administration is that it seeks to avoid involvement in protracted conflicts in the region and prefers to leave the resolution of these conflicts to the countries of the region. The Yemen conflict is an important example of this approach.

The Dilemma of Beijing

The panelists emphasized that Chinese-US competition in the region is escalating and will impact the existing interactions in the region via several key dimensions.

1. Crystallization of a US policy to block Chinese influence: Although the US administration has not yet developed a specific strategy vis-à-vis China, it relies mainly on the concept of democracy versus autocracy. Based on this thinking, the American administration sees China as a threat to the US. The Biden administration has been eager to counter Chinese influence through a number of initiatives, such as the AUKUS pact and the revival of the Quad Alliance, which includes the US, Australia, India, and Japan.

2. Shift of polarization from AUKUS to the Middle East: The issue of competition with China in the Middle East is prompting a major debate within Washington, according to the panelists. One group, the minority, believes that the competition with China is in Asia, while the other group, the majority, believes that the Chinese challenge is global and the US must compete in all directions, including the Middle East. This means that the polarization between the two factions is shifting to the Middle East.

3. Rising US concern over China’s reach in the region: Several of the panelists explained that there are many concerning signs for Washington regarding China’s presence in the Middle East. China has an increasing presence and influence in the region: 50% of China’s gas imports are from the Middle East, and China is the top trading partner for 11 countries in the region—and these numbers are increasing over time. China has also begun to supply weapons to the region, and the Iranian-Chinese relationship is a major source of concern for the US.

4. Increasing potential for tension between Washington and its allies: The Chinese presence in the Middle East may raise issues and tensions in Washington’s relationships with its allies, with the US fearing the position of its partners and allies because many of its traditional partners are strengthening their cooperation with China. The situation may seem logical, as partnership with China provides major economic advantages.

5. Washington defines the limits of its partners’ relationships with China: Washington may resort to contacting its partners in the region in order to define the permitted scope of relations with China. This could be done through several means, including emphasizing the importance of economic independence from China for the countries of the region, Washington placing restrictions on the use of Chinese technology, using a selective approach to the region’s dealings with China, and offering incentives to avoid cooperation with China.

The Russian Challenge

The panelists explained that Russia’s rising presence has affected the US role in the region, noting that an analysis of Russian policy in the region identifies several key dimensions.

1. Russia’s use of the Syrian crisis in foreign policy: Despite Moscow’s small diplomatic and commercial steps in the region before the military intervention in Syria, the Syrian crisis is what officially and clearly brought Moscow back to the Middle East. Syria represented an entry point for certain issues and concerns important to Russia in the region.

2. Washington’s loss of control over Russian moves: Russia’s policy in the Middle East raises questions about the degree to which Washington is able to control Moscow and its actions. It appears that Washington is having difficulty exerting full control over Moscow as evidenced by the current Ukraine crisis. Likewise, Washington lacks a clear strategy vis-à-vis Russia or its intervention in the Middle East, especially in Syria.

3. Russia’s establishment of a regional axis hostile to the US: The Iranian-Russian rapprochement is likely to continue in the coming period. Putin’s approach is based on establishing relations with all the players, but his closest relationships are with actors hostile to Washington, such as Iran, the Bashar al-Assad regime, and Hezbollah.

4. Concern over the Russian-Chinese alliance in the region: There is concern over the creation of an alliance between Russia and China in the region, especially since the two countries already have a strategic partnership and do not need a formal agreement to do many things that harm the interests of the US. There also seems to be a division of labor somehow between Beijing and Moscow, with Russia seen as strong militarily, while China is considered strong economically.

Anticipated Trends

At the end of the discussion, the main speakers on the panel drew several main conclusions:

1. The end of America’s role in the region was ruled out: It is unlikely that America’s role in the region will end; rather, the US will remain the most influential international player in the region, at least for the foreseeable future. In this framework, the main problem may be the prevailing perceptions in the region that the US has withdrawn from the Middle East. These perceptions need to be addressed because the US is remaining in the region.

2. Vital US interests in the region remain stable: The Biden administration is tied to the region across a set of vital interests, primarily the continued importance of energy sources in the region in the short and medium term for several reasons, notably the current crisis in Ukraine and its effect on gas supplies to Europe. Moreover, Washington places several issues within its vital interests and priorities in the region, such as maintaining safe passage for oil and avoiding the presence of a hostile power in the region.

3. New patterns for US military presence are developing: The Biden administration is working to develop new patterns of presence in the region, especially from the military perspective. Washington seems to be betting on finding new patterns for military presence in the region that do not involve major troop deployments. For example, the new US policy focuses on developing infrastructure, logistical transportation networks, and ports with countries in the region.

4. There will be pressure on regional countries to curb cooperation with China: The developing relationships between China and several of Washington’s regional partners are likely to prompt the US to contact its partners in order to halt the development of their relationships with Beijing and to define the prohibited and permitted spheres for dealing with China.

In conclusion, the workshop participants stressed that the US will focus mainly on confronting the threats posed by the Russian and Chinese presence in the Middle East, especially since both countries view the US as their adversary and are developing a good relationship with Iran with the goal of establishing an anti-American axis in the region. Russia and China also both aspire to limit the global influence of the US and to participate in leading the world order.


https://www.interregional.com/en/%d8%a7%d8%b3%d8%aa%d8%b1%d8%a7%d8%aa%d9%8a%d8%ac%d9%8a%d8%a9-%d9%85%d9%81%d9%82%d9%88%d8%af%d8%a9/

استراتيجية مفقودة:

مستقبل السياسة الأمريكية تجاه الشرق الأوسط في 2022 (حلقة نقاشية)
استراتيجية مفقودة:
5 مارس، 2022

عقد “إنترريجونال” للتحليلات الاستراتيجية في فبراير 2022 حلقة نقاشية بعنوان “استراتيجية مفقودة: السياسة الأمريكية تجاه الشرق الأوسط في 2022″، استضاف خلالها كلاً من الدكتور/ جون كالابريس أستاذ السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الجامعة الأمريكية بواشنطن العاصمة، والبروفيسور/ ديفيد دي روش الأستاذ في مركز الشرق الأدنى وجنوب آسيا للدراسات الاستراتيجية في جامعة الدفاع، والدكتور/ ماثيو كرونيج وهو أستاذ علوم سياسية في جامعة جورج تاون ومدير مدير مبادرة سكوكروفت الاستراتيجية ومدير الدراسات بأتلانتيك كاونسل، والدكتورة/ آنا بورشيفسكايا، وهي وزميلة أولى في معهد واشنطن لسياسات الشرق الأدنى؛ وذلك بحضور باحثي المركز في أبو ظبي، وبمشاركة بعض باحثي المركز من القاهرة. .أدار حلقة النقاش ديل سبروسانسكي نائب مدير التحرير في مجلة تقرير واشنطن لشؤون الشرق الأوسط

محددات رئيسية

أشار المشاركون في الحلقة النقاشية إلى أن تحليل الدور الأمريكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط يتعين أن ينطلق من ثلاثة مستويات تحليلية رئيسية، هي:

1- تصاعد تعقيدات السياق الدولي: خلق السياق الدولي الراهن ظروفاً معقدة أمام الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية، وهو ما فرض على أجندتها عدداً من القضايا، مثل جائحة كورونا، والتغير المناخي والصراع مع الصين والأزمة الأوكرانية الروسية وانعكاساتها على الأمن الأوروبي.

2- تزايد حالة عدم اليقين الإقليمي: لا تزل هناك حالة من عدم اليقين في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، خلقت تحديات كبيرة أمام صانعي القرار الأمريكيين؛ فهناك العديد من الصراعات القائمة. صحيح أن هناك إشارات إيجابية نحو تهدئة التوترات في المنطقة، إلا أن هذه المؤشرات غير كافية.

3- تنامي ضغوط الداخل الأمريكي: تشكل قضايا الداخل أولوية لإدارة بايدن؛ فالإدارة مطالبة بالتعامل مع عدد من الملفات مثل أزمة كورونا وتداعياتها، والمشكلات الاقتصادية التي يواجهها الأمريكيون، ويتم التعامل مع هذه الملفات في ظل بيئة تتسم بالاستقطاب حتى في داخل حزب الرئيس “بايدن”.

ملامح عامة

اتفق المشاركون في الحلقة النقاشية على أن الدور الأمريكي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط سوف يستمر، لكنه سيكون وفقاً لأنماط وأشكال مختلفة. وترتبط هذه الفرضية بعدد من الأبعاد الرئيسية المتمثلة فيما يلي:

1- أهمية مصادر الطاقة على المديين القصير والمتوسط: أشار بعض المشاركين في الحلقة إلى أن الولايات المتحدة ستكون أقل اعتماداً على مصادر الطاقة (النفط والغاز) بالمنطقة على المدى الطويل، إلا أنه على المديين القصير والمتوسط ستظل الولايات المتحدة مهتمة بمصادر الطاقة في المنطقة لاعتبارات رئيسية، في مقدمتها الأزمة الحالية في أوكرانيا وانعكاساتها على إمدادات الغاز لأوروبا.  

2- إعطاء الأولوية التحولات الاستراتيجية الدولية: من المتوقع دخول مجتمع السياسة الأمريكي في فترة يُنظر فيها إلى التطورات الإقليمية من خلال عدسة التحولات الاستراتيجية الدولية؛ ففي المرحلة الأولى 1.0 كانت الولايات المتحدة تنظر إلى التطورات من منظور الحرب الباردة، وفي المرحلة الثانية2.0  فسرت واشنطن التطورات من خلال الحرب على الإرهاب، ولكن الآن يبدو أننا بصدد المرحلة 3.0 التي من خلالها سينظر السياسيون الأمريكيون إلى الشرق الأوسط من خلال المنافسة بين القوى العظمى.

3- قدرة الولايات المتحدة على القيادة في نظام تعددي: ربما لا تمتلك إدارة بايدن استراتيجية كبرى أو تسعى إلى تقديم أفكار أو وعود قصوى يمكن ألا يتم تنفيذها والوفاء بها، لكن الرئيس الأمريكي يعتبر ذا نهج دولي Internationalist ويؤمن بتعددية الأطراف Multilateralist، كما أن لديه اعتقاداً راسخاً أن الولايات المتحدة تستطيع ويجب عليها أن تلعب دوراً قيادياً في الشؤون الدولية.

4- تطوير أنماط جديدة للحضور العسكري الأمريكي: من غير الصحيح أن الولايات المتحدة ستغادر المنطقة عسكرياً. وتراهن واشنطن في الوقت الحالي على إيجاد أنماط جديدة للحضور العسكري في المنطقة، بعيداً عن نشر القوات بصورة كبيرة. ولا يمكن القول إن تراجع أعداد القوات الأمريكية في المنطقة دليل على الانسحاب الأمريكي من الشرق الأوسط؛ فالدور الأمريكي ربما يتم قياسه بأدوات خاطئة، مثل عدد الجنود المتمركزين في دولة ما.

5- تجنب الدخول في الصراعات الإقليمية الممتدة: ثمة ملحوظة رئيسية يكشف عنها الدور الأمريكي الراهن في المنطقة في ظل إدارة بايدن، وهي متعلقة بتجنب الدخول في الصراعات الممتدة بالمنطقة، وترك مسؤولية تسوية هذه الصراعات لدول المنطقة. ويشكل الصراع اليمني نموذجاً هاماً على هذا التوجه.

معضلة بكين

أشار المشاركون في الحلقة إلى أن التنافس الصيني الأمريكي في المنطقة آخذ في التصاعد، وأن هذا التنافس سينعكس على التفاعلات القائمة بالمنطقة من خلال عدد من الأبعاد الرئيسية المتمثلة فيما يلي:

1- بلورة سياسة أمريكية لتطويق النفوذ الصيني: بالرغم من أن الإدارة الأمريكية لم تطور حتى الوقت الراهن استراتيجية محددة تجاه الصين، فإنها تعتمد بصورة رئيسية على فكرة الديمقراطية ضد الأوتوقراطية. وبناءً على هذه الفكرة تنظر الإدارة الأمريكية إلى الصين بوصفها تهديداً لها. وقد حرصت إدارة بايدن على مواجهة النفوذ الصيني من خلال عدة مبادرات، مثل تحالف أوكوس، وإحياء تحالف كواد الذي يضم الولايات المتحدة وأستراليا والهند واليابان.

2- انتقال الاستقطاب من أوكوس إلى الشرق الأوسط: تثير قضية التنافس مع الصين في الشرق الأوسط جدلاً كبيراً داخل واشنطن، حسب المشاركين في الحلقة؛ فثمة فريق، وهو يمثل أقلية، يرى أن المنافسة مع الصين هي منافسة في آسيا، بينما يرى فريق آخر، وهو الأغلبية، أن التحدي الصيني هو تحدٍّ عالمي، وأنه يجب على الولايات المتحدة خوض المنافسة في جميع الاتجاهات بما فيها الشرق الأوسط. ويعني هذا الأمر أن استقطاب الطرفين بدأ ينتقل إلى الشرق الأوسط.

3- تصاعد القلق الأمريكي من تمدد الصين بالإقليم: أوضح عدد من المشاركين في الحلقة أن هناك عدداً من المؤشرات المقلقة لواشنطن بخصوص الحضور الصيني بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط، فالصين لديها حضور ونفوذ متزايد في المنطقة، كما أن %50 من صادرات النفط في الصين تأتي من المنطقة، كما أنها الشريك التجاري الأول لـ 11 دولة في الشرق الأوسط، وهي الأرقام التي تتزايد بمرور الوقت. كما بدأت الصين توفر أسلحة للمنطقة. وتشكل العلاقات الإيرانية الصينية مصدراً كبيراً للقلق الأمريكي.

4- تزايد احتمال حدوث توتر بين واشنطن وحلفائها: ربما يثير الوجود الصيني في منطقة الشرق الأوسط بعض الإشكاليات والتوترات في العلاقات بين واشنطن وحلفائها؛ حيث تتخوف الولايات المتحدة من موقف شركائها وحلفائها؛ لأن العديد من الشركاء التقليديين يعززون التعاون مع الصين. وربما يبدو الأمر منطقياً؛ حيث إن الشراكة مع الصين توفر مزايا اقتصادية كبيرة.

5- تحديد واشنطن حدود علاقة شركائها بالصين: قد تلجأ واشنطن إلى التواصل مع شركائها في المنطقة من أجل تحديد حيز العلاقة المسموح به مع الصين؛ وذلك من خلال عدد من المداخل، ومنها تأكيد أهمية الاستقلال الاقتصادي لدول المنطقة عن الصين، ووضع واشنطن قيوداً على استخدام التكنولوجيا الصينية، وتوظيف النهج الانتقائي في تعامل دول المنطقة مع الصين، وتقديم حوافز لدول المنطقة لتجنب التعاون مع الصين.

التحدي الروسي

أوضح المشاركون أن الحضور الروسي المتصاعد انعكس على الدور الأمريكي في المنطقة، مشيرين إلى أن تحليل السياسة الروسية في المنطقة يستحضر عدداً من الأبعاد الرئيسية المتمثلة فيما يلي:

1- توظيف روسيا الأزمة السورية في السياسة الخارجية: بالرغم من الخطوات الصغيرة دبلوماسياً وتجارياً التي اتخذتها موسكو في المنطقة قبل التدخل العسكري في سوريا، فإن الأزمة السورية هي التي أعادت موسكو بصورة رسمية وواضحة إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط؛ حيث تمثل سوريا مدخلاً لبعض الملفات والقضايا الهامة لروسيا في المنطقة.

2- فقدان واشنطن السيطرة على التحركات الروسية: تثير السياسة الروسية في المنطقة تساؤلاً بشأن مدى قدرة واشنطن على السيطرة على موسكو وتصرفاتها؛ إذ يبدو أن واشنطن تعاني من معضلة السيطرة التامة على موسكو، والدليل على ذلك أزمة أوكرانيا القائمة. كما أن واشنطن تعاني من غياب استراتيجية واضحة تجاه روسيا أو تدخلها في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، وخاصة في الملف السوري.

3- تأسيس روسيا محوراً إقليمياً معادياً للولايات المتحدة: من المرجح أن يستمر التقارب الإيراني الروسي في الفترة القادمة؛ حيث إن مقاربة بوتين تجاه المنطقة تقوم في الأساس على إقامة علاقات مع كافة الأطراف، ولكن العلاقات الأعمق تكون مع الأطراف المعادية لواشنطن، مثل إيران ونظام بشار الأسد وحزب الله.

4- التخوف من التحالف الروسي الصيني في المنطقة: ثمة تخوف قائم من خلق تحالف بين روسيا والصين في المنطقة، وخاصة أن الدولتين لديهما بالفعل شراكة استراتيجية ولا يحتاجون اتفاقية رسمية للقيام بالعديد من الأشياء التي تضر مصالح الولايات المتحدة. كما يبدو أن هناك تقسيماً للعمل بطريقة ما بين بكين وموسكو؛ حيث تعتبر روسيا قوية في المجال العسكري، بينما تعد الصين قوية من الناحية الاقتصادية.

اتجاهات متوقعة

في ختام الحلقة النقاشية، خلص المشاركون في الحلقة من المتحدثين الرئيسيين إلى عدد من الأفكار الرئيسية، ويتضح ذلك عبر ما يلي:

1- استبعاد نهاية الدور الأمريكي في المنطقة: من غير المرجح أن ينتهي الدور الأمريكي في المنطقة، بل ستظل الولايات المتحدة الطرف الدولي الأكثر تأثيراً في المنطقة على أقل تقدير في المستقبل المنظور. وفي هذا الإطار، ربما تكون الإشكالية الرئيسية متعلقة بالمدركات والتصورات perceptions السائدة في المنطقة بأن الولايات المتحدة انسحبت من الشرق الأوسط، وهي التصورات التي تحتاج إلى معالجة حقيقية؛ لأن الولايات المتحدة لا تزال باقية في المنطقة.

2- ثبات المصالح الحيوية الأمريكية في الإقليم: ترتبط إدارة بايدن بالمنطقة عبر مجموعة من المصالح الحيوية، وفي مقدمتها استمرار أهمية مصادر الطاقة في المنطقة على المديين القصير والمتوسط؛ لاعتبارات رئيسية، في مقدمتها الأزمة الحالية في أوكرانيا وانعكاساتها على إمدادات الغاز لأوروبا. علاوة على ذلك، فإن واشنطن تضع ضمن مصالحها وأولوياتها الحيوية في المنطقة عدداً من المسائل، على غرار الحفاظ على الممر الآمن للنفط، وتجنب وجود قوة عدائية في المنطقة.

3- تطوير أنماط جديدة للحضور العسكري الأمريكي: تعمل إدارة بايدن على تطوير أنماط جديدة للحضور في المنطقة، وخاصة من الزاوية العسكرية؛ إذ يبدو أن واشنطن تراهن على إيجاد أنماط جديدة للحضور العسكري في المنطقة، بعيداً عن نشر القوات بصورة كبيرة. وعلى سبيل المثال، تركز السياسة الأمريكية الجديدة على تطوير البنية التحتية وشبكات النقل اللوجستية والموانئ مع دول المنطقة.  

4- الضغط على دول الإقليم لتحجيم التعاون مع الصين: يُرجح أن يدفع التطور الحادث في العلاقات بين الصين وعدد من الشركاء الإقليميين لواشنطن في المنطقة، الولايات المتحدة إلى التواصل مع شركائها من أجل التوقف عن تطوير علاقاتها مع بكين، وتحديد المساحات المحظورة في التعامل مع الصين، وكذلك المساحات المسموح بها.

وختاماً، أكد المشاركون في الورشة أن الولايات المتحدة ستركز بصورة أساسية على التصدي للتهديدات التي يخلقها الحضور الروسي والصيني في الشرق الأوسط، خصوصاً أن كلتا الدولتين تنظران إلى الولايات المتحدة كخصم لهما، وتجمعهما علاقة جيدة مع إيران بهدف تأسيس محور معادٍ للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، كما أن الدولتين تطمحان إلى الحد من النفوذ العالمي للولايات المتحدة، والمشاركة في قيادة النظام الدولي.


الكلمات المفتاحية:
https://www.interregional.com/%d8%a7%d8%b3%d8%aa%d8%b1%d8%a7%d8%aa%d9%8a%d8%ac%d9%8a%d8%a9-%d9%85%d9%81%d9%82%d9%88%d8%af%d8%a9/