A Continent of Opportunity:

Key Trends for Understanding Current Dynamics in Africa (Panel Discussion)
A Continent of Opportunity:
November 14, 2021

InterRegional for Strategic Analysis held a panel discussion entitled “Key Trends for Understanding Current Dynamics in Africa,” hosting Dr. Hamdy Abdel Rahman, Professor of Political Science at Zayed University. The panel discussion focused on the main trends in Africa, and also referred to the challenges and opportunities available to the continent, as follows:

1. Escalating waves of military coups on the continent: There has been an increase in the number of military coups in Africa during the recent period, compared to previous years. From 2011 to August 2020, there were only five coups on the continent. By contrast, from August 2020 to now, five coups have taken place – a significant increase.

2. Increased activity by middle powers: There is what can be described as a “third scramble for the continent,” amid many efforts by regional and international powers to strengthen their influence in Africa. That includes some “middle powers” playing a prominent role in recent years, especially as regional and international powers’ interests are intertwined. Arab Gulf states are among the rising powers in Africa. 

3. Transformation into a promising demographic and economic force: By 2050, Africa will have the largest population in the world, surpassing China. It will also have the largest number of youth. Moreover, the continent will form the largest economic bloc after the World Trade Organization (WTO). With the formation of the Continental Free Trade Area, which has come into force, there will be a massive collective of more than 50 countries. This will then have an impact on shaping Africa’s future.  

4. Favorable opportunities for the continent in the Fourth Industrial Revolution: Africa did not have a role in previous civilizational revolutions, but today there is a possibility for it to use new technology, play a prominent role, and reduce its marginalization within the international system. Rwanda is an important rising model on the continent. It has succeeded in dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic in a distinctive way, such as using drones. Some even describe Rwanda as the “Dubai of Africa,” due to its use of new technology.

5. Failure of “peacemaking” approaches: The approaches implemented for two decades have failed, because they are ineffective and unsuccessful. The result is that terrorism has expanded and taken on various forms in Africa. Approaches have focused on the military aspect, while countries’ local conditions and the spread of certain armed groups due to historical and social grievances have been ignored.

6. Development of “maritime terrorism” or “port terrorism”: ISIS has begun to spread near African coastal regions, by spreading throughout the Sahel-Sahara region, from the heart of the Sahara such as Mali, to Burkina Faso, Cameroon, and Senegal, which are coastal states. Thus, terrorist hotspots are becoming more widespread.

7. Replicating the Afghan model in Africa: There are failed states and marginalized regions in Africa. If Operation Barkhane were to leave Mali, there would be a repeat of the Afghanistan scenario, with armed terrorist organizations taking control of the state. If we move from West Africa to the Lake Chad Basin, these are the most dangerous areas in which terrorism is prevalent, as they are not controlled by the state and terrorist organizations are widespread. In Somalia, too, if the African Union Mission (AMISOM) left, the state would collapse.

8. Danger of relying on “local guards”: There is a tendency to rely upon and militarize local forces, especially as a country such as Nigeria has resorted to militarizing the community itself, through so-called “local guards.” Because the army is unable to confront the security challenges, it uses armed militias. This deepens security problems. Militias do not operate within a legal framework and have no accountability, even if the number of civilian deaths from local guards is greater than the victims of terrorist organizations themselves. The community itself becomes a victim.

The panel discussion concluded that Africa is divided. On one side are the old, American-led forces focused on the concept of conditionality and issues related to human rights and democracy. Many African countries do not like that. On the other side is China, which does not interfere but focuses on development, independence, and the danger of the so-called “debt trap.” Therefore, we are faced with two models that the continent’s countries deal with very cautiously. So Arab countries could—for example—choose a “third way,” which could be considered a win-win approach to advance their interests on that promising continent.


Key Words:
https://www.interregional.com/en/%d9%82%d8%a7%d8%b1%d8%a9-%d8%a7%d9%84%d9%81%d8%b1%d8%b5/

قارة الفرص:

الاتجاهات الحاكمة لفهم التفاعلات الراهنة في إفريقيا (حلقة نقاشية)
قارة الفرص:
27 أكتوبر، 2021

عقد “إنترريجونال للتحليلات الاستراتيجية” حلقة نقاشية بعنوان “الاتجاهات الحاكمة لفهم التفاعلات الراهنة في إفريقيا”؛ حيث استضاف خلالها د. حمدي عبد الرحمن أستاذ العلوم السياسية بجامعة زايد. وقد ركزت الحلقة النقاشية على أبرز الاتجاهات العامة لواقع القارة الإفريقية، علاوة على الإشارة إلى التحديات والفرص المتاحة بالقارة، وهو ما يمكن تناوله على النحو التالي:

1– تصاعد موجات الانقلاب العسكري في القارة: هناك تزايد في عدد الانقلابات العسكرية في القارة خلال الفترة الأخيرة مقارنة بسنوات سابقة، حتى إنه منذ عام 2011 حتى أغسطس عام 2020، لم يحدث سوى خمسة انقلابات فقط في القارة، وفي المقابل فإنه منذ أغسطس عام 2020 حتى الآن حدثت خمسة انقلابات، وهو ما يعكس تزايد أعداد الانقلابات في القارة.

2– نشاط متزايد للقوى المتوسطة (Middle power): يوجد ما يمكن وصفه بحالة “التكالب الثالث على القارة”، في ظل مساعي العديد من القوى الإقليمية والدولية لتعزيز نفوذها في القارة، بما في ذلك قيام بعض “القوى المتوسطة” بلعب دور بارز في القارة خلال السنوات الأخيرة، خاصةً أن هناك تشابكًا في المصالح بين القوى الإقليمية والدولية داخل القارة، وتعد دول الخليج العربي من القوى الصاعدة داخل القارة.

3– التحوُّل إلى قوة ديموغرافية واقتصادية واعدة: بحلول 2050 ستكون الكتلة السكانية الكبرى في العالم موجودة داخل القارة، متجاوزة الصين، وكذلك سيكون لديها أكبر عدد من الشباب. علاوة على ذلك، سوف تشكل القارة أكبر كتلة اقتصادية بعد منظمة التجارة العالمية؛ إذ إنه مع تشكيل منطقة التجارة الحرة القارية التي دخلت حيز التنفيذ، سيكون هناك تجمع ضخم به أكثر من 50 دولة، ومن ثم سيؤثر ذلك على رسم معالم المستقبل الإفريقي.

4– فرص سانحة للقارة بالثورة الصناعية الرابعة: لم يكن للقارة الإفريقية دور في الثورات الحضارية السابقة، لكن اليوم هناك إمكانية لها أن توظف تكنولوجيا جديدة، وأن يكون لها دور بارز، وتقلل من عملية التهميش في النظام الدولي. وتعتبر رواندا نموذجًا صاعدًا مهمًّا في القارة، وقد نجحت في التعامل مع جائحة كورونا على نحو متميز، مثل توظيف الدرونز، حتى إن البعض وصف رواندا بأنها “دبي إفريقيا” من خلال توظيف التكنولوجيا الجديدة.

5– فشل مقاربات “صناعة السلام”: فشلت المقاربات المطبقة على مدى عقدين؛ لكونها عقيمة وفاشلة، والنتيجة تمدد الظاهرة الإرهابية واتخاذها أشكالًا مختلفة في القارة الإفريقية؛ إذ ركزت المقاربات على الجانب العسكري وتم تغافل الظروف المحلية للدول وانتشار بعض الجماعات المسلحة بسبب مظالم تاريخية واجتماعية.

6– تبلور ظاهرة “الإرهاب البحري” أو “إرهاب الموانئ”: إذ إن تنظيم داعش بدأ ينتشر قرب المناطق الساحلية الإفريقية، عبر الانتشار في منطقة الساحل والصحراء في قلب الصحراء مثل مالي، ليصل عن طريقها إلى بوركينا فاسو والكاميرون والسنغال وهي دول ساحلية. ومن ثم أصبحت هناك بؤر إرهابية آخذة في الانتشار بشكل أكبر.

7– إعادة إنتاج النموذج الأفغاني في القارة: توجد دول فاشلة ومناطق مهمشة في القارة، ولو أن عملية برخان خرجت من مالي سيتم إعادة إنتاج نموذج أفغانستان عبر سيطرة التنظيمات المسلحة والإرهابية على الدولة في مالي. وإذا انتقلنا من الغرب الإفريقي إلى حوض بحيرة تشاد، فإن هذه من أخطر المناطق التي ينتشر بها الإرهاب؛ لكونها مناطق غير محكومة من جانب الدولة، وتنتشر فيها التنظيمات الإرهابية. وكذلك الصومال التي إذا خرجت بعثة الاتحاد الإفريقي “أميصوم” منها، فستنهار الدولة الصومالية.

8– خطورة الاعتماد على “الحُرَّاس المحليين”: هناك اتجاهًا للاعتماد على القوى المحلية وعسكرتها، خاصة وأن دولة مثل نيجيريا لجأت إلى تجييش المجتمع نفسه من خلال من يسمون “الحراس المحليين”؛ لأن الجيش غير قادر على مواجهة التهديدات الأمنية، ومن ثم يتم توظيف الميليشيات المسلحة، وهو ما يعمق المشكلات الأمنية؛ إذ إن الأخيرة لا تعمل في إطار قانوني، ولا تقع عليها مساءلة، حتى إن عدد القتلى المدنيين نتيجة الحراس المحليين أكبر من ضحايا التنظيمات الإرهابية نفسها، فيصبح المجتمع نفسه ضحيةً.

خلصت الحلقة النقاشية إلى أن القارة الإفريقية منقسمة بين قوى قديمة بزعامة أمريكية تركز على مفهوم المشروطية في القارة، وما يرتبط بحقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية، وكثير من الدول الإفريقية لا تحب ذلك، وبين الصين في المقابل التي لا تتدخل لكنها تركز على التنمية والاستقلالية، والخطورة فيما يسمى “فخ الديون”. ومن ثم فنحن أمام نموذجين يتم التعامل معهما بحذر بالغ من جانب دول القارة؛ لذا يمكن للدول العربية –على سبيل المثال– اختيار “الطريق الثالث” أو ما يمكن اعتباره Win–Win Approach، لتعزيز مصالحها في تلك القارة الواعدة.


الكلمات المفتاحية:
https://www.interregional.com/%d9%82%d8%a7%d8%b1%d8%a9-%d8%a7%d9%84%d9%81%d8%b1%d8%b5/